Michigan Electronic Library

mellogo

The other day I decided I would like to learn about wine. I have seen the rows of wine at stores and I’ve been overwhelmed. With friends I have shared a glass but never knew how to choose a bottle without wondering if it will taste like vinegar or cherry syrup!

So I exhausted the topic of wine at the library, and as the person who processes Mel (Michigan Electronic Library, available to all library patrons), I soon found a wonderful book about wine. The book explained about grapes, and what people are looking for when they raise the glass. I discovered exactly what the sniff and the swirl is all about! I learned about locations and soils and how weather plays a role. As I read, it came to light about why Michigan’s wine industry is growing in leaps and bounds even though our weather seems nothing like California’s. The book is Wineocology: Uncork the Power of Your Palate with Sensory Secrets from Hollywood’s’ Sommelier by Stansbury and Shink. You will have to order it though MeL. If you have never done that before we will help you at the library. Please ask.

I have more knowledge about wine now, at least enough to narrow down the types I may like. The rows of bottles are still overwhelming. I don’t have the time to read every delightful label as much as it would be charming to do so, besides stores don’t offer chairs. What I can say is this, when I wanted to learn about wine, I turned to the library and found a book that was perfect with delightful pictures. I could hold it in my hand and read, or I could put it down until I had more time.

To those who do not frequent libraries I must say, “How can you not?” I personally have no idea. For when it comes to learning, the library is the go-to place. It has always been that way for me. Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

